21 Writing tips from Katie Flanagan

My sister’s 21st birthday is tomorrow! She is a talented writer of fiction and to celebrate the anniversary of her birth she wrote up 21 tips for writers. Go check them out! I think most of them can be more broadly applicable to life in general, so whether or not you’re a writer it should be interesting to you. Plus you get to see a picture of me as a child!

The Writing Asylum

Tomorrow is my 21st birthday! I’m one of those people who makes a big deal about my birthdays (if I don’t, who will?), and so I’m even taking it to the blog today. Here’s a list of 21 things I’ve learned about writing since I first started imagining things, sometime when I looked like this:

Okay, okay, maybe I didn’t start imagining things the day I was born. But I know I was engaging in stories here:

(That’s The Jolly Postman, a great book)

So, without further ado, here’s 21 shots of things I’ve learned (in no particular order):

  1. Relying on just one engine is not enough. You need story, character, and language to all be working to write effectively.
  2. Write because you love it. If you’re doing it for the grade or for the money, it’s going to wear you down.
  3. Find good writing friends. They’ll probably…

View original post 540 more words

Leave a Reply

