2014, off to a scientific start

Happy New Year!

Personally, I am glad to bid 2013 farewell and welcome in 2014. So far, 2014 is off to a pretty good start:

  • On Dec. 31st, my lab work came the closest to working it’s been since May/June (!!!)
  • On Jan. 1st, my first full scientific manuscript was accepted for publication (!!!)
  • One of the first completed tasks for this year will be submitting a grant proposal
  • Tomorrow is the first day of the Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology (SICB) meeting, at which I am presenting a talk, and which I am greatly looking forward to attending

I hope this year will be a good one for my scientific career. Hopefully many samples will be processed and much data will be gathered!

One of the reasons I’m writing this post is to let you know that I will write another post or two to talk about the SICB meeting, and will likely also tweet (@sarahpf19) with the official hashtag, #SICB2014. The plenary talk tomorrow evening is about social media and science, which I’m looking forward to. I will probably share my thoughts here on the blog, so keep an eye out for that!

Leave a Reply

