Pipefish pairing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In my recent paper published in Behavioral Ecology and Sociobiology, I described the results of some of the work I did while in Sweden (which I’ve written about previously 1,2,3). I discovered that individual quality (both male quality and female quality) and timing of reproduction impact reproductive success in the broad-nosed pipefish, Syngnathus typhle. This is an important finding because it highlights the complex dynamics of mating systems. The results are covered in a press release, and I wrote about my experiences for Biosphere Magazine, an online nature magazine. My story in Biosphere just came out (Issue 23) and you can read it here.

Leave a Reply

